top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Pinterest Basic Black

A little thing called my "c+i why"...

My father has told me time and again that he's a firm believer in serendipity. I think so often we like to say that things happen for a reason, but how quickly life goes on and you sometimes miss the opportunity to cease the moment.

Less than one year ago my path was completely uncertain and my world was upside down. Those of you that know me personally or follow Styled with Substance know that 2014 was a tough year for myself and my family, and you also know something amazing ended up happening that completely changed my life. I decided to take a chance, to put everything I had into working with Chloe + Isabel, to launch a new career running my own jewelry and styling business . Not only did my career explode in December of last year, but I was promoted within Chloe + Isabel and now am coaching an amazing group of ladies to help them achieve their dreams and aspiratons.

So what's this "c+i why" you ask?? Simply put it's my reason for pushing myself, it's what drives me every day to improve myself and to inspire those around me. It is a constantly evolving master plan. My "c+i why" started as wanting enough extra money to get a new car and to be involved in fashion, as it has always been a passion (just call me Dr. Suess lol). At the time I was working as a paralegal and this was more of a hobby. When faced with adversity my "why" shifted gears and, as I stated above, I put my all into taking charge of my own career and becoming a Merchandise Manager/Stylist.

So here I am in 2015 and the "why" has once again expanded. I had the honor of traveling to NYC this past weekend for an amazing conference with other Chloe + Isabel leaders. I also had the distinct pleasure of listening to and speaking with our incredible and inspiring CEO Chantel Waterbury. Her vision and her determination is staggering!! As I listened to Chantel and other wonderful leaders (and friends) speak, and as I soaked in the electric energy that is NYC I had one of those Oprah "ah-ha" moments. My "why" has actually come full circle and good old serendipity has worked it's magic.

Long ago, from as far back as I can recall, I dreamed of fashion. I watched "Behind the Velvet Ropes" on the Style Channel religiously, I had an obscene amount of fashion magazines stacked in my closet and I wanted one day to be a model or designer or anything that would take me to fashion mecca...NYC. Time went on, I grew up and those dreams were swept under the rug and I did what so many people do, and just settled for a job. As I walked down 5th Avenue after eating a fabulous dinner at the W Hotel I realized something. To quote one of my favorite characters of life, Penny Lane..."it's all happening!" I am here, I made it. I have the chance to not only do something I love that will provide for my family, but I am living my dream! And it's far from over, it's only just begun!

So maybe today take a moment to consider your own "why." What gets you out of bed, what pushes you to go that extra mile? Maybe today is the day that your life changes forever. Believe in something bigger than yourself and the world will be your oyster!

My Carrie Bradshaw moment!!!

Crazy delish deserts from Tarallucci E Vino...

The beautiful view in Central Park!

Shameless Uber selfie...lol...

A view from the top at 230 5th!!

Parting is such sweet sorrow, but a mimosa at Tavern on the Green is a nice way to say ciao!


bottom of page